Striker Online

SSE Airtricity League: Waterford are the SSE Airtricity U19 League Champion

28 October 2019; Dean Beresford of Waterford lifts the Dr Tony O’Neill Perpertual Cup following the SSE Airtricity Under-19 League Final match between Galway United and Waterford at Eamonn Deacy Park in Galway. Photo by Sam Barnes/Sportsfile
Waterford are the SSE Airtricity U19 League Champions after their 2-1 win over Galway United at Eamonn Deacy Park. 

In front of a fantastic 1063 crowd in Galway, Waterford lifted the trophy after Darragh Power’s 80th-minute header sealed victory for Gary Hunt’s side. 

The Blues dominated the majority of the contest and could have been 3-0 up inside the first 10 minutes. Waterford finally did take the lead in the 11th-minute as the impressive Alex Phelan burst through to latch onto Niall O’Keefe’s through-ball and he smashed the ball home inside the near-post. 

The home side responded well and in the 22nd minute, they should have been level. The lively Francely Lomboto found Wilson Waweru 12 yards out but after he turned his defender, Waweru fired his effort straight at the keeper. 

Encouraged by the 1063-strong Eamonn Deacy Park crowd, the Tribesmen continued to create chances after the break. Lomboto and Dara Costelloe were involved as their play found Waweru and his pass put Joshua Keane-Quinlivan in on the left but he fired straight at the keeper. 

Phelan almost scored another goal in the 63rd minute after he latched onto a misplaced back-pass but his effort went wide after he rounded the keeper. 

Five minutes later, Galway were level. Lomboto was brought down inside the area and Keane-Quinlivan slotted home his penalty to the keeper’s right as the home side looked like they were going to press on for a winner. 

However, Waterford showed the resilience which brought them to the final and went back in front with 10 minutes left. Dean Beresford’s corner found Darragh Power at the back-post and his looping header beat keeper Sam O’Gorman. 

Two minutes from time, Phelan sealed the victory and grabbed his second of the game as he burst down the Galway left and from a tight angle, he slid the ball under O’Gorman to seal the SSE Airtricity U19 League title. 

Galway United: Sam O’Gorman (GK), Hakeem Ryan, Calym Crowe (C), Adam Rooney, Ronan Asgari, Joshua Keane-Quinlivan, Caoilfhionn O’Dea, Wilson Waweru, Cillian Doyle (Harry Rogers 86), Francely Lomboto, Dara Costelloe (Adam Farrell 88).

Subs: Cian Mulryan (GK), Nathan Healy, Joseph Thompson, Dean Murphy, Mark Melody. 

Waterford: Noel Heffernan (GK), Darragh Power, Danny Reynolds, Reece Murphy, Cameron Power (Success Edogun 89), Niall O’Keefe, Dean Beresford (C), Mike Nzongong (Adam Masood 51), Colm Whelan (Jamie Holden 90), Alex Phelan, Regix Madika (Greg Waters 82). 

Subs: Brendan Kirwan (GK), Oisin Griffin, Cian Browne. 

Referee: Bartley Folan.

Attendance: 1063

Man of the Match: Alex Phelan (Waterford) 

Related posts

NEFL Results

Eamon Scott


Eamon Scott


Eamon Scott