Striker Online
All Fixtures HomepageFAI NewsLatest News Homepage


THE task to see which Region will represent the Football Association of Ireland in the UEFA Regions Cup campaign will be decided by a Test Match which will be decided on November 2 at the AUL Complex in Clonshugh.

FAI Amateur manager Gerry Davis will hand over the management of the two squads on the day but a outcome for either Region is huge incentive for the players involved to go forward to represent the national association in a tournament which is contested by all UEFA member associations.

This year’s draw will be held in Nyon on December 3 when the winners of the Test Match will learn their group fate with the winners of each group going forward to the finals proper at a location yet to be decided.

In a new departure and additional incentive is UEFA’s funding of a trip for the winners to take on a USA Amateur side with the mot recent winners – Warsaw Region looking forward to an all expenses paid trip to Chicago next month.

Said Gerry Davis: “We have lots of really talented players representing both sides and it’s a big game to look forward to on November 2”

“Congratulations to all the players selected for the Test Game and a bih thanks to both management teams who will look after the respective squads on the day.”

The following squads have been selected for the UEFA Regions Cup 2021 Play-Off game between Region 1 and Region 2 which will be played on Saturday the 2nd of November 2019 with a 2pm kick-off.

All players Named are asked to report to the AUL Complex at 12-0. Any players unable to commit are asked to contact Dennis Cruise (087-25627940) by return.

Region 1: John Hanafin (Mervue Utd); Andrew Connolly (Mervue Utd); Gary Bailey (Mervue Utd); Gary Cunninghan (Westport Utd); Darren Browne (Westport United); Cillian McGlade (Westport United); Peter Doherty (Cockhill Celtic); James Bradley (Cockhill Celtic); Ousin McCogan (Cockhill Celtic); Matthew Byrne (Glengad Utd); John Mc Loughlin (Glengad United); Terence Doherty (Glengad United); Daire McDaid (Kilmacrennan Celtic); Gerry Canavan (Manulla FC); Dylan Doherty (Greencastle FC); James Henry (Greencastle FC); TBC; TBC Standby Players Mick Corrigan (Boyle Celtic); Jack Higgins (Castlerea Celtic) ; Dylan Edwards (Ballina Town); Michael Henegan (Glen Celtic ).

Managers: Gareth Gorman/ John Loftus Additional staff members will be selected from the Amateur International Technical Staff

The draw for the UEFA Regions Cup 2021 will take place in Nyon on the 3rd of December 2019.

Region 2: Brendan O’ Connell (Rockmount FC); Gary Neville (Pike Rovers); Noel Murray (St. Mochtas FC); Chris Higgins (St. Michaels FC); Stephen Kelly (Newmarket Celtic); Paul Murphy (Sheriff YC) ; Jimmy Carr (St. Michaels FC); Darren Craven (Malahide Utd), Niall Hanley (Rockmount FC); Eoin Hayes (Newmarket Celtic); Shane Stritch (Edenderry Town); Jack Walsh (Avondale Utd); Niall Barnes (Bluebell Utd); Stephen Chambers (Killester Utd); Garren Manley (College Corths); Cillian Duffy (Maynooth Uni); Stephen Murphy (Sheriff YC); David Fagan (Crumlin Utd). Standby players: Karl Melling (Malahide Utd), James Lee (Crumlin Utd), Shane Ryan (St. Michaels FC); Hughie O’Donovan (Avondale Utd), Liam Brady (Crumlin Utd), Andy O’ Donovan (Middleton FC)

Managers: Martin Loughran/Tadgh O’Nell
Dennis Cruise. Hon Secretary FAI Junior Council 087-2562794

Related posts


Eamon Scott

NEFL Results

Eamon Scott


Eamon Scott