Striker Online

SAFIB Bob Docherty Cup | Under 15 Girls’ International Tournament

Tuesday, April 12, 2022

Republic of Ireland make it two wins from two

Northern Ireland……………………… 3 Republic of Ireland…………4

Eva Myles (23), Sophie McKnight (39) Rhiana Breen (70+2)                                   Emily Fitzgerald (2), Leah McGrath (3, 7), Kiera Sena (49)

THE REPUBLIC OF IRELAND SCHOOLS backed up their remarkable performance which saw them defeat a formidable English side 4-1 yesterday by overcoming a hardworking Northern Ireland outfit 4-3 this afternoon in their penultimate game of the Bob Docherty Cup.

Richard Berkeley’s side were three nil up inside the first seven minutes with an opening goal less than 90 second in from Colaiste Iognaid, Galway pupil Emily FITZGERALD who shot from outside the box on her left peg. And this was followed up moments later by a magnificent brace from St. Anne’s SS, Tipperary scholar Leah McGRATH. Her second was courtesy of a well placed corner from Coláiste an Chraoibín, Fermoy grad Kiera Sena.

The North were hoping to bounce back from falling to a four nil defeat to England in their opening game on Sunday and it took them awhile to gather momentum as Eva MYLES grabbed one back to make it 3-1 inside 24 minutes.

Captain Hannah Healy forced a wonderful save from the Northern Ireland keeper while Kiera Sen’a set-piece just before the interval hit the woodwork and Healy dragged her rebounded effort inches from the post. It ended 3-1 at half-time.

Sophie McKNIGHT reduced the deficit to just one when she converted a long range effort with the bounce deceiving Hollie Homan in goal to make it 2-3 with just four minutes of the second period played.

Gracie Conway forced a brilliant save from Homan on 44 minutes as the Republic found their shooting boots again. Five minutes on, Kiera SENA got on the score-sheet with a super goal following a long ball from Homan. McGrath picked it up at midfield and sent a delightful through ball into Sena’s path as the Fermoy star got past the keeper to poke the ball into an empty net, 4-2.

With the Republic absorbing the Northern Ireland pressure, the final few moments were frantic and the Northern Ireland crew brought it back to 3-4 in additional time with a beautiful strike from Rhiana BREEN to take the gloss of the score-line.


Not surprising, it was Leah McGRATH that was voted the Player of the Match given her two goal tally and assist for Sena’s goal that ensured the prestigious honours this time out. 


In the other group game, Scotland and Wales played out a pulsating tie with Scotland just edging it 2-1 to ensure their path to the final.

The other groupings for Thursday morning will see England play Wales and England 2 play Northern Ireland. All fixtures will kick off at 11am with the final game having two periods of 40 minutes as opposed to the previous games at 35 minutes per half.


Scotland are a physical team who have some real pedigree in their panel. It will be another tough encounter but the Irish girls will relish the challenge and no doubt Richard Berkeley will have them well prepared for the final game of the season.

Amy Tierney had made a quick recovery from illness to feature in today’s game but there are concerns over Emma Meaney and Kayla Maguire heading into Thursday’s show-piece. The duo will have tomorrow to recover and hopefully it will give Berkeley some selection headaches with a full strength panel at his disposal. Just one more game in the way of capturing another elusive double!

UNDER-15 GIRLS’ REPUBLIC OF IRELAND SCHOOLS  | Hollie HOMAN (St. Angela’s College, Cork), Lucy O’ROURKE (St. Mary’s College, Naas), Chloe WALLACE (Coláiste Nano Nagle, Sexton Street, Limerick), Keeva FLYNN (St. Mary’s Secondary School, Ballina), Cache CRUMLISH (Carndonagh Community School), Clodagh DALY (St. Mary’s Secondary School, Nenagh), Amy TIERNEY (John the Baptist Community School, Limerick), Hannah HEALY © (Holy Faith Secondary School, Clontarf), Kiera SENA (Coláiste an Chraoibín, Fermoy), Emily FITZGERALD (Coláiste Iognaid, Galway) Leah McGRATH (St. Anne’s Secondary School, Tipperary)

SUBS USED  | Shauna SHEAHAN (Mount Mercy College, Cork) for Flynn (52), Lauryn McCABE (Tallaght Community School) for Fitzgerald (59), Emma DUFFY (Davitt College, Castlebar) for Healy (64), Orlaith DOHERTY (St. Columba’s College, Stranorlar) for Crumlish (64)

SUBS NOT USED | Emma MEANEY (Ardscoil Mhuire, Corbally), Clodagh FITZGERALD (Coláiste Choilm, Ballincollig), Kayla MAGUIRE (Kingswood Community College)

MANAGEMENT STAFF | Head Coach Richard Berkeley (Sancta Maria College, Louisburgh) Coach Katie McCarthy (Coláiste na Toirbhírte, Bandon), Coach Kaneshia McKinney (Scoil Mhuire, Buncrana) GK Coach Emmet Peyton (St. Muredach’s College, Ballina), Equipment Manager Tessa Mullins (Holy Rosary College, Mountbellew), Performance Analyst Aoife Gibbons (IT Tralee), Physio Denise Callaghan

NORTHERN IRELAND PANEL | Abbie Smith, Emma Gardner, Laura Dowey, Ellen Hampton Anastasia Stanyte, Mia Moore, Rhiana Breen, Darcie McNeill, Gracie Conway, Sophie McKnight, Eva Myles, Kate Smith, Zoe Knox, Eden Doonan, Jessica McGuinness, Clodagh Maguire, Anna Walsh, Brooke Milligan.

MANAGEMENT STAFF | Coach Stephen Graham, Assistant Coach Heather Mearns, GK Coach Stuart Thompson


Sunday, April 10

England 4-0 Northern Ireland

England 2 1-0 Wales

Monday, April 11

Scotland 1-1 England 2 Scotland won on pens

Republic of Ireland 4-1 England

Tuesday, April 12 | KO 4pm

Northern Ireland 3-4 Republic of Ireland

Scotland 2-1 Wales

Free Day – Wednesday


Thursday, April 14 | KO 11am

Republic of Ireland vs Scotland

England B vs Northern Ireland

England vs Wales

Bob Docherty Cup | Roll of Honour

2002Republic of IrelandBallymena, Northern Ireland
2003ScotlandEdinburgh, Scotland
2004ScotlandClare, Republic of Ireland
2005Republic of IrelandBallymena, Northern Ireland
2006ScotlandDumfries, Scotland
2007***Republic of IrelandWrexham, Wales
2008Republic of IrelandSalthill Devon, Galway
2009ScotlandBelfast, Northern Ireland
2010Republic of IrelandGlasgow, Scotland
2011Northern IrelandCardiff, Wales
2012Northern IrelandAUL Complex, Dublin
2013ScotlandShaws Bridge, Belfast
2014EnglandRepton School, Derbyshire
2015ScotlandToryglen, Glasgow
2016EnglandDragon Park, Wales
2017WalesAUL Complex, Dublin
2018Republic of IrelandUlster University, Jordanstown
2019Republic of IrelandCambrils Park, Salou
***Renamed Bob Docherty Cup

Related posts


Eamon Scott


Eamon Scott

Hanover second-half fightback secures final outing against St Patrick’s Boys

Eamon Scott