Striker Online
All Fixtures HomepageConnacht FAFIXTURESLATEST NEWSLatest News HomepageROSCOMMON LEAGUE



Roscommon and District League Premier Division side Ballinasloe Town pulled off a great win away to a fancied Castlebar Celtic side and are now through to the Connacht Cup Final.

   Castlebar Celtic were the better side in the first half and were worthy of their 1 – 0 half time lead thanks to a Jordan Loftus goal. Ballinasloe Town made a couple of changes to their line up and were much better after the break and in fact their keeper Aidan Fallon hadn’t a save to make in the second half. At the other end man of the match Jordan Carr tormented the Castlebar Celtic defence.

With ten minutes played Jordan Carr took on the home defence before volleying to the met. Ballinasloe defended well and with no further scores the game went to extra time. In the first period of extra time Jordan Carr scored his second and Ballinasloe Town comfortably held on for a great win. They will play either Salthill Devon or Athenry in the final.

Division 1 side Shiven Rovers advanced to the Semi Finals of the Joes Bar sponsored Challenge Cup when the beat Premier Division side St Johns Athletic at Newbridge.

Despite starting the better side Shiven Rovers fell behind to a Tommy Hurley goal after fifteen minutes of play. The home side had a chance to level the game with thirty played but the St Johns Keeper saved Francis Kilcommins penalty kick.  Five minutes before half time Shane Harkins found room in the St Johns penalty area and he levelled the game.

The Shiven Rovers defence were really under pressure for the remainder of normal and extra time but they held on for the penalty shootout.  The Shiven Rovers Keeper and man of the match Shane Delaney saved two penalties and scored one resulting in a 3 – 1 win for his side and a place in the Semi-Finals of the Cup.

In an all Premier Division clash at Kilkerrin the home side were beaten 4 – 0 by Boyle Celtic. David Flanagan gave Boyle Celtic a 1 – 0 half time lead and Brian and Jake Mc Crann and Michael Corrigan added three more against an injury hit Kilkerrin United side.

A great display from Dunmore Town saw them through to the D K Shield Semi Final with a 2 – 0 home win over Rahara Rovers. Dunmore went ahead after eight minutes when an Ethan Coen corner kick found Tom Byrne who headed to the Rahara net.

Five minutes later Ben Glynn beat his marker before crossing to the far post where Ethan Coen slotted home to make it 2 – 0. Declan Forde Sean Ryan and Gavin Mullarkey all came close to adding a third in the second half before Dunmore ran out winners.

The Castleplunket side C P Ajax are still very much in contention for the Division 1 Championship following a 4 – 3 win over Roscommon United at Tarmon. In a thrilling game that could have gone either way James Egan scored two and Evan Flynn and Daniel Connolly added one each for CP Ajax

The Division 2 Championship is still in the balance following a 1 – 0 win for Cam Celtic away to Ballaghaderreen. The home side only needed a draw to secure the title but as a result of this game Ballaghaderreen will face a playoff should Cam Celtic beat Cloonfad United in their next game.

      After a very close and entertaining game the destination of the three points was decided by a David Cunniffe strike with thirty minutes played.

Roscommon and D L

Results 24th April 2022

Connacht Cup Simi Finals

Castlebar Celtic                 1 – 2  aet              Ballinasloe Town

Jordan Loftus                                                        Jordan Carr 2

Joes Bar Challenge Cup Quarter Finals

Shiven Rovers                   1- 1 aet                 St Johns Athletic “A”

Shiven win 3 – 1 on pens

Shane Harkin                                                          Tommy Hurley

Kilkerrin United                0 – 4                        Boyle Celtic

                                                                                David Flanagan Brian Mc Crann

                                                                                Jake Mc Crann Michael Corrigan

D K Shield Quarter Finals

Dunmore Town                                2 – 0                        Rahara Rovers

Tom Byrne Ethan Coen

Division 1

Ballinasloe Town “B”                       PP           Ballinagare /Manor United

C P Ajax                                4 – 3                        Roscommon United

James Egan 2 Evan Flynn

Daniel Connolly

Division 2

Ballaghaderreen “B”       0 – 1                        Cam Celtic

                                                                                David Cunniffe

Friday 29th April 2022

Norios Premier Division

Castlerea CelticVBallinasloe Town8pm 
Kilkerrin UtdVCloonfad Utd8pm 

First Division

CP AjaxVBallinagare Manor7pm 
Shiven RoversVRoscommon Utd8pm 

Sunday 1st May 2022

Norios Premier Division

St John’s AthlVMoore Utd11am 

First Division

Ballinasloe Town BVDysart11am 
Dunmore TownVSkyvalley Rovers11am 

Second Division

Cam CelticVCloonfad Utd B2pm 

Monday 2nd May 2022

Norios Premier Division

Ballinasloe TownVBoyle Celtic2pm 
Kilkerrin UtdVMoylough ‘792pm 

First Division

Ballinagare ManorVGlen Celtic11am 

Second Division

Roscommon Utd BVRahara Rovers2pm 

Related posts


Eamon Scott

Eamon Scott


Eamon Scott