Striker Online
All Fixtures HomepageConnacht FAFIXTURESLATEST NEWSLatest News HomepageROSCOMMON LEAGUE

Roscommon and District League Round Up

Boyle Celtic on cusp of claiming Norios Premier Division

BOYLE CELTIC are within touching distance of winning the Norios Premier Division of the Roscommon and District League following a comfortable 2 – 0 win over St Johns Athletic at Celtic Park Boyle.

They only need a point from their remaining game against Ballymoe FC to be crowned Champions.

Shane Battles gave the winners a 1- 0 lead after six minutes of play and David Carlos added a second half way through the second half.

Ballinasloe Town kept their hopes of catching the leaders alive when the beat Cloonfad United 2 – 1 at Ballinasloe. While the home side had the majority of play it was Cloonfad United who took the lead through Conor Flynn after sixty two minutes.

Cloonfad had a great chance to stretch their lead six minutes later when they were awarded a penalty kick but the ever reliable Conor Flynn missed.

Ballinasloe got back in the game with eighty one played when Ryan Burke converted a penalty kick and Liam Lynch scored the winner for Ballinasloe Town three minutes into added on time at the end of the game.

In a game of no real significance to either side Ballaghaderreen finished their League campaign in style when they beat an understrength Kilkerrin United side 6 – 0 at Ballaghaderreen. Danny Browne James Horan and Joe Perry gave them a 3 – 0 lead at the break and Danny Browne completed his hat trick in the second half and Alex Meingan added a sixth before the end.

Moore United beat Moylough 4 -2 at Moylough to keep their winning run on track. Charles Nevin set up Andy Hussey to score the first for the winners and the second was a repeat of the first. Mark Gannon scored a brilliant third for Moore after receiving a pass from Charles Nevin and Nevin himself completed the scoring for the winners. Pierce Townsend scored both goals for the losers.

In a local derby game Ballymoe F C beat Castlerea Celtic 1 – 0 at Ballymoe. Dean Muldoon scored the only goal of the game after eighty three minutes of play. 

Moore United advanced to the Joes Bar sponsored Roscommon and District League Challenge Cup Semi-Finals following an impressive 4 – 1 win over Ballinasloe Town at Moore.

Liam Lynch gave the visitors a 1 – 0 lead after eight minutes of play. Andy Nevin levelled the game when he got on the end of a good cross from Mark Gannon.

Charles Nevin volleyed in a second to give Moore a 2- 1 half time lead. Paul Kelly headed a third for Moore and in the closing stages Charles Nevin won a penalty kick for the winners and his brother Andy converted the spot kick. They play Division 1 side Shiven Rovers in the Semi-Finals

Congratulations are extended to Ballinasloe Towns second side as they were crowned Division 1 winners following their 1- 0 win over Ballinagare Manor United at Ballinasloe. The game was decided by a super strike from Pedro with just three minutes of normal time remaining.

The Castleplunket side C P Ajax finished as runners up following a 4 – 1 win over Skyvalley Rvs at Tarmon. Both teams will be promoted to the Premier Division next season. The home side were the better team and deserved their win. Paul Mee scored three and James Egan one for the winners with Paul Mc Manus scoring for the losers.

In the Division 2 Cup Quarter- Finals, Dunmore Town beat Roscommon United 3 -0 at Dunmore. Before a big crowd the home side took the lead in the first half when Dara Ryan finished off a William Devlin cross.  With Thomas Kilgarriffe, Chris Mc Tigue and Aaron Connolly playing well Dunmore added two more in the second half through the talented Thomas Gleeson.

Cam Celtic will play Dunmore Town in the Semi-Finals following their hard earned 1 – 0 win over neighbours Rahara Rovers at Rahara.  This game was decided by a close range score by Jack Ryan midway through the second half.

 Ballaghaderreen will meet Skyvalley Rovers in the second Semi-Final following a 9- 1win over Cloonfad United at Cloonfad. Reece Keenan and Noel Deerey scored three each and John Higgins David Mc Greal and Chris Dunne added one each for the winners.

In the Masters League Colemanstown beat Roscommon United 1 – 0 at Colemanstown.

Roscommon and District League Results 15th May 2022

Joes Bar Challenge Cup Quarter Finals

Moore United                                                   4 – 1                        Ballinasloe Town

Charles Nevin Andy Nevin 2 Paul Kelly                            Liam Lynch

Norios Premier Division

Ballymoe F C                                      1 -0                         Castlerea Celtic

Dean Muldoon

Ballinasloe Town                              2 – 1                        Cloonfad United

Ryan Burke Liam Lynch                                                       Conor Flynn

Ballaghaderreen F C                        6 – 0                        Kilkerrin United

Danny Browne 3 James Horan

Joe Perry   Alex Meingan

Boyle Celtic                                         2 – 0                        St Johns Athletic

Shane Battles David Carlos

Moylough 79                                      2 – 4                        Moore United

Pierce Townsend 2                                                              Andy Hussey 2 Mark Gannon 1

 Charles Nevin

Division 1

C P Ajax                                                                4 – 1                        Skyvalley Rovers

Paul Mee 3 James Egan 1                                                   Paul Mc Manus

Ballinasloe Town                              1 – 0                        Ballinagare /Manor United


Division 2 Cup Quarter Finals

Skyvalley Rovers                              2 – 0                        St Johns Athletic


Dunmore                                             3 – 0                        Roscommon United

Dara Ryan Thomas Gleeson 2

Rahara Rovers                                   0 – 1                        Cam Celtic

                                                                                                Jack Ryan

Cloonfad United                               1 – 9                       Ballaghaderreen

                                                                                                Reece Keenan 3 Noel Deerey 3

                                                                                                John Higgins Chris Dunne

Masters League

Colemanstown Utd.                       1 – 0                        Roscommon United

Week 50 fixtures 18th to 22nd May 2022

Wednesday 18th May 2022

RDFL Women’s Pre season tournament

Ballinasloe TownVSt Cuan’s Utd Ahascragh7.30pm 

Friday 20th May 2022

Norios Premier Division Cup

Castlerea CelticVMoore Utd8pm 

First Division Cup

Shiven RoversVSkyvalley Rovers8pm 

Saturday 21st May 2022

Norios Premier Division

Boyle CelticVBallymoe7.30pm 

Round 2 RDFL Masters League

StrokestownVGlen Celtic7.30pm 
Skyvalley RoversVCam Celtic7.30pm 
Roscommon UtdVCastlerea Celtic7.30pm 
Moore UtdVColemanstown7.30pm 

Sunday 22nd May 2022

Connacht FA TP Brennan Shield Final Fixture Sunday 22nd May 2022

Venue: County Grounds, Lecarrow, Roscommon, K.O: 2pm

 Home Away 
 Westport Utd BvKnocknacarra 

                                                                    Match Officials: Roscommon

Referee:          Keith Reynolds
Assistant Referee 1:          Glen Campbell
Assistant Referee 2:          Gearoid Kelly
Fourth Official:          Ayo Bolarinwa

Norios Premier Division

Ballinasloe TownVSt John’s Athl11am 

First Division

Ballinagare Manor UtdVDunmore Town11am 

Second Division Cup Semi Final

  Dunmore Town BVCam Celtic2pm 
Ballaghaderreen BVSkyvalley Rovers B2pm 

RDFL Women’s Pre season tournament

ColemanstownVKilkerrin UtdPPTo be rearranged
Cam DysartVShiven Rovers11am 

Related posts


Eamon Scott


Eamon Scott


Eamon Scott