Striker Online
AULLatest News Homepage

Rickard double puts Sheriff YC on road to a deserved Viberstore Cup success



Josh McMahon of Sheriff faced his brother Adam as Sheriff took on Hardwicke in The Viberstore Cup final at The Bowl this morning.

It was a tight affair first half with little in the way of opportunity.  Pat Oglesby sent Keith Rickard in in the 9th minute but his effort struck the outside of John Brown’s left post.

In the 17th minute Robbie Monaghan’s chipped effort from way out almost caught Lee Murphy unawares but the ball sailed inches over.  

Towards the end of the half YC upped the ante somewhat and Darren ‘Wacker’ Dunne was beginning to boss the midfield area.  He slipped Oglesby in on 44 but Brown saved his low cross with his feet and it was tied at zilch half-time.

Early second half Hardwicke had a player dismissed for a second yellow and Sheriff began to dominate.

In the 53rd minute they went in front when Rickard controlled Sean Murphy’s cross from the left before thumping home.  Two later the same man doubled the advantage when he latched onto a quick free-kick from Dylan Grimes and his low side-footed effort found the net.

Midway through the half YC wrapped it up with a quickfire move that saw Grimes and Oglesby combining to set up Sean Murphy for the third.

Towards the end Nathan Walsh headed a Jake Hyland delivery just over and Wacker Dunne had a headed goal disallowed for offside.  Compensation for Dunne though as he was awarded man-of-the-match in a close run thing with Rickard.

Another trophy for the YC cabinet and they’re at it again on Tuesday in the AUL Challenge final against St. Paul’s of Artane.

Sheriff YC: Lee Murphy, Joseph Flood, Sean Murphy, Stephen Maher, Paul Murphy, Darren Dunne, Dylan Grimes, Josh McMahon, Keith Rickard, Gary Burke, Patrick Oglesby.  Subs: Carl McCabe, Ciaran Clusker, Mark Quigley, Declan Darcy, Clayton Kelly, Prince Anthony.

Hardwicke FC: John Brown, Adam McMahon, Danny Joyce, David Scully, Nathan Walsh, Karl Young, Glen Garbutt, Jake Hyland, Robert Monaghan, Cian Horan, Brandon Daly.  Subs: Travis Flood-Murtagh, Cian McMullen, Evan Hanney, Craig Perry.

Referee: Liam McGuirk.  Assistants: Wayne Kelly, Aidan O’Brien, John Reid(4th).

By DERMOT CLARKE (report/photos)

Related posts


Eamon Scott


Eamon Scott


Eamon Scott