Striker Online
All Fixtures Homepage FAI News Latest News Homepage

Mohan names Men’s Under 19 squad for EURO qualifiers in Bulgaria

Tom Mohan’s MU19s are in qualification action this week. Republic of Ireland Men’s Under-19 Head Coach Tom Mohan has named a 20-man squad for three UEFA Under-19 Championship Qualifiers in Bulgaria this week.
 Ireland take on Montenegro tomorrow, followed by Bosnia & Herzegovina on Saturday (November 13) and finish up their Group 6 qualification group against hosts Bulgaria on Tuesday (November 16).
 It has been an almost two-year wait for a Tom Mohan team to get back into competitive action due the COVID-19 pandemic.
Last month his side faced Sweden in two friendlies games in Marbella, Spain drawing 2-2 and 1-1.
 Mohan is boosted by the selection of Anselmo Garcia MacNulty, Bosun Lawal, Andrew Moran, Dan Rose and Sean Roughan, who have trained or played with the Ireland U21s this year. 
 Sam Curtis and Kevin Zefi also receive the call having been part of the Colin O’Brien’s MU17s that qualified through the round one of qualifications in Cork last month. 
League of Ireland Premier Division strikers Aidomo Emakhu and Johnny Kenny also get the call-up for the three qualifiers. 

Speaking ahead of the qualifiers, Mohan said: “Our training camp in September and the two games last month against Sweden proved really beneficial.

“It provided me and the staff the opportunity to get working again with the players at this level and identify the many qualities within the squad in preparation for what we will encounter over the next week.”
 Republic of Ireland Men’s Under-19s Squad Goalkeepers: Arlo Doherty (Leicester City), Dan Rose (Schalke 04)

Defenders: James Abankwah (St. Patrick’s Athletic), Tayo Adaramola (Crystal Palace), Val Adedokun (Brentford), Sam Curtis (St. Patrick’s Athletic), Anselmo Garcia MacNulty (Wolfsburg) David Okagbue (Stoke City), Sean Roughan (Lincoln City)

Midfielders: Evan Caffrey (UCD), Kian Corbally (St. Patrick’s Athletic) Jack Henry-Francis (Arsenal), Bosun Lawal (Celtic), Ed McJannet (Luton Town)

Forwards: Sinclair Armstrong (Torquay United, on loan from QPR), Aidomo Emakhu (Shamrock Rovers), Cian Hayes (FC United of Manchester, on loan to Fleetwood Town), Johnny Kenny (Sligo Rovers), Andrew Moran (Brighton and Hove Albion), Kevin Zefi (Inter Milan) 

 UEFA European Under-19 Championship qualifiers, Group 6 – all kick-offs are Irish time 
Wednesday, November 10 | Republic of Ireland MU19 v Montenegro MU19, Druzhba, Dobrich, Bulgaria, KO 12.30pm 
Saturday, November 13 |
 Republic of Ireland MU19 v Bosnia & Herzegovina MU19, Druzhba, Dobrich, Bulgaria, KO 12.30pm 
Tuesday, November 16 | Bulgaria MU19 v Republic of Ireland MU19, Albena 1, Albena, Bulgaria, KO 12.30pm 

Related posts

Wexford Football League

Eamon Scott

UCFL fixtures – SAT MAY 25

Eamon Scott


Eamon Scott