Striker Online
Latest News HomepageWICKLOW LEAGUE

Injury leads to Charlie Bishop Cup Semi Final being abandoned

Everybody at Striker online wishes Brian Coen a speedy recovery to full health



(Match abandoned after 37 minutes due player injury)

A bad leg injury to Ashford Rovers’ Brian Coen led to the Charlie Bishop Cup Semi Final being abandoned.

The veteran defender tackled with Brandon Feeley in the 33rd minute with the Rovers player incurring a suspected broken leg.

It led to an ambulance being called and the player being taken to St. Vincent’s Hospital with an operation reportedly set for Monday.

Just minutes after the incident, referee Carl Doyle engaged with both teams’ management and decided to call a halt to proceedings.

The likelihood is that the match will be re-fixed at the same venue. But is it also strongly possible it could be put back further than next weekend – possibly in two weeks’ time.

That will mean that the final itself – which was provisionally pencilled in for Monday April 22 at the Carlisle Grounds in Bray – will be deferred until a later date.

On a bitterly cold morning at the Matt Kelly Memorial Grounds, the last four fixture was a repeat of the 2018 final.

The strong prevailing wind was to Newtown’s advantage as they pressurised their opponents back.

United were bidding for a four in a row in the competition. And looked to their way after taking the lead in the 32nd minute.

Neilly Martin’s slide rule pass released current Wicklow League young player of the year Dillon Carthy along the left channel.

From midway along the box, he pulled the ball back to meet the run of reigning Wicklow League player of the year Evan Moran who placed a low side-footed finish to the net from 12-yards.

NEWTOWN UNITED A: Kenneth Turner; Barry Davis, PJ Dowling, Glenn Carthy, Neilly Martin; Branon Feely, Ross Davis, Sean Heffernan, Karl Carthy; Evan Moran, Dillon Carthy.

SUBS: Dean Odlum, Robert Clarkson, Shane Doyle, Martin Williams, Oisin Greenan, Aaron Byrne, Luke Martin.

ASHFPRD ROVERS A: Cathal Moody; Anthony Byrne, Mick Taylor, Brian Coen; Jamie Byrne, Finn Brooks, Robbie Eyre, Ruadhan Fallon-Verbruggen,

Jack Geraghty; Danny Byrne, Andy Earls.

SUBS: Naoise Treacy, Kian Marah, Evan Dunne, Ross Hamilton.

REFEREE: Carl Doyle. ASSISTANTS: Michael Kennedy, Owen White.

Related posts

NECSL Fixtures

Eamon Scott


Eamon Scott


Eamon Scott