Striker Online
Latest News HomepageNDSL

Hurry and Daly-Coady impress for Balbriggan in Brackenstown goalsfest

BY Ger Brady

The NDSL Under 9s of Swords Manor and Balbriggan played their last 5-a-side game on Saturday morning in Brackenstown Park as the 2019 season came to an end and with the 2019/20 season set to resume in two months.

In the two games played, one was dominated by the visitors while the game on pitch two was an even encounter.

Swords Manor v Balbriggan. Balbriggan’s Wynner Enabulele and Swords Tyler Byrne compete for the ball on Saturday morning. Photos by E Scannell 22/06/19

On the first pitch though, the Balbriggan boys dominated with Nathan Hurry and Eli Daly-Coady in particular shining bright and in doing so linking up several times to score numerous great goals between then.

The search for the opening goal of the day began with Tristan Kearns coming close for Swords Manor but his powerful effort struck the post.

Swords Manor v Balbriggan. Balbriggan’s Nathan Carey looks to get past the challenge from Swords Luke O’Hara on Saturday morning. Photos by E Scannell 22/06/19

Over on pitch 2, Balbriggan’s Nathan Carey was inches away from finding the back of the net.In the end, it was Matthew Ashmore who opened the scoring on pitch 1 for Balbriggan.

The first goal of the day on pitch 2 arrived through a great strike from Luke O’Hara.Over on pitch 1 Balbriggan’s Nathan Hurry certainly was in a hurry to score goals as he completed his hat-trick midway through the first half.

Swords were battling away on the first pitch and got a late goal thanks to David Joyce but there was no stopping the deadly duo of Hurry and Daly-Coady.Pitch 2 as previously stated was a tight tussle.

Swords Manor v Balbriggan. Balbriggan’s Matthew Ashmore looks to set up an attack during Saturday’s clash with Swords Manor. Photos by E Scannell 22/06/19

Wynner Enabulele and Ehis Eigb were lively going forward for the visitors although Swords did finish strong with Bartek Chrabolowski scoring two on. 

Swords Manor: David Joyce, Taylor Byrne, Luke O’Hara, Noah Kruslin, David Joyce, Bartek Chrabolowski, Jamie McCarthy, Vlad Bobiroki, Max Gardjan, Tristan Kearns.

Balbriggan FC: Matthew Ashmore, Nathan Grey, Nathan Hurry, Eli Daly-Coady, Luke Nolan, Dan Caulfield, Wynner Enabulele, Ehis Eigb.

Related posts


Eamon Scott


Eamon Scott

Strong Leeside presence as World University squad named for Naples

Eamon Scott