Striker Online

Heihir strikes late to seal treble as Saints recover to see off Castlerea in Cup final


Congratulations are extended to St Peters FC and Ballagaderreen FC respectively who won the Roscommon and District League Challenge Cup and the Division 1 Cup Final respectively.

St Peters completed the treble when the won the Challenge Cup having previously won the League Championship and the Premier Division Cup Final.

Having edged out a very impressive Moylough 79 in the Semi-Finals earlier in the week they beat Castlerea Celtic in the Final at the League headquarters  lecarrow on Sunday.

In a very compeditive and entertaining game St Peters came out on top on  a 3 – 2 scoreline. Castlerea Celtic struck early and were 1 – 0 up after two minutes of play.

They were awarded a corner kick and Darren Clabby headed to the St Peters net. St Peters levelled the game two minutes into the second half when a Mark Heihir cross reached Mark McConnell and he headed to the Castlerea Celtic net.

With fifty seven minutes played Castlerea Celtic were back in front. A strong run and cut back by Darren Clabby reached Daniel Connolly who volleyed to the Peters net. Their lead lasted ony two minutes as a Darragh Concnnon corner kick was headed in by J P Stephens.

The deciding score came after seventy eight minutes when good play by Jason Nugent set up Mark Heihir volleyed to the corner of the Castlerea Celtic net.

Ballaghaderreen needed all their experience to overcome a very good Roscommon United side in the Division 1 Cup at Lecarrow on Saturdat evening. Ballaghaderreen had already won the Connacht Shield and the Division 1 Championship but probably had their most difficult win of the season when they finally got the better of this Roscommon United side following extra time.

Last season Ballaghaderreen won this competition with Cathal Horan scoring all three of their goals. The same player completed his hat trick in the Connach shield win over Colemanstown United and he added another three in in their extra time win over Roscommon United.

There was just one  goal scored in the first half mainly due to good defending by both sides and some excellent stops by the winners keeper Dermotton Horan and his opposite number Adam Bracken for Roscommon United.

With thirty minutes played.Carhal Horan latched on to a through ball and opened the scoring for Ballaghaderreen

The sides were level after five minutes play in the second half. The talented Jamie Bracken created an opening for Vando and his super strike game the Ballaghaderreen keper no chance. With twenty two minutes played in the second half a strong run from Cathal Horan   gave him a sight of goal and he gave the Keeper no chance with a neat volley .

Roscommon United never gave up and were rewarded when Jamie Bracken levelled the game very near the end of normal time.

In extra time both teams visibly tired and when Cathal Horan added his third Roscommon United just could not come again and get an equaliser.

Roscommon & District League Roll Of Honour 2019 /20 Season

Premier Division

Winners;        St Peters Athlone­

Runners Up;  Caslerea Celtic

Relegated;     Shiven Rovers, Skyvalley Rovers

Connacht Shield

Winners Ballaghaderreen F C

Division 1

Winners;        Ballaghaderreen F C

Runners Up;  Cloonfad United

Promoted       Ballaghaderreen  Cloonfad United

Relegated;     Ahascragh United, Rahara Rovers, Cam Celtiv

Division 2

Winners;        Glen Celtic 

Runners Up;  Manor United

Promoted      Glen Celtic, Manor United,Balinasloe Town

Division 2 Shield

Winners             Ballaghaderreen

Runners Up       Ballymoe F C

Roscommon & D L Challenge Cup

Winners          St Peters  Athlone

Runners Up;   Castlerea Celtic

Premier Division Cup

Winners;         St Peters F C

Runners Up;    Castlerea Celtic

Division 1 Cup

Winners;         Ballaghaderreen                                              

Runners Up;   Roscommon United

Division 2 Cup

Winners            St Johns Athletic

Runners Up;     Ballaghaderreen F C

Leading Goal Scorers

Premier Division;     Mark Sherlock  (St Peters FC)

Division1;                Danny Browne    (Ballaghaderreen FC)  

Division 2;              Tom Ward  (Manor Utd)                     

Related posts


Eamon Scott

Eamon Scott


Eamon Scott