Striker Online
FAI NewsLATEST NEWSLatest News Homepage


Weldon keeps his nerves as Douglas Hall beat rivals to lift FAI Centenary Youth Cup

Douglas Hall captain Lee Morely raises the FAI Centenary Youth Cup following a presentation
by FAI President Gerry McAnaney     SPORTSFILE

DOUGLAS HALL are the 2022 FAI Centenary Youth Cup champions after securing a dramatic 3-2 victory over Ringmahon Rangers in this thrilling all Cork final which was played at Turner’s Cross.

Douglas Hall took the lead in the 9th minute. From a corner kick taken by Harry Flanagan, Gavin O’Shea was in the right place at the back post to finish high to the back of the net.

Douglas Hall extended their advantage in the 23rd minute, when O’Shea did well to turn and control inside the penalty area, before cooly finishing into the bottom corner of the net.

The Douglas Hall defence was holding firm. But Ringmahon hit the crossbar in first half stoppage time through a powerful Paddy Cronin strike. However, it was Douglas Hall that held the advantage and were in the significantly strong position at the half-time break.

Ringmahon went within inches of scoring on 55 minutes, after a free-kick from Adam Delurey hit the post. Just past the hour mark Ringmahon were awarded a penalty kick and the perfect lifeline back into the final. 

Cronin assumed spot-taking duties and he duly slotted home with a well-taken low strike.

Delurey had a great chance to level the game up for Ringmahon when he fired straight at Douglas Hall goalkeeper Moynihan after racing onto the end of a flick-on from Kennedy Osubor.

With 84 minutes played, the Ringmahon pressure paid off and they got back on level terms. After Fionn Crowley flicked the ball into his path, Ryan Keating blasted his strike to the bottom corner.

There was to be a dramatic twist in the tale, when Douglas Hall were awarded a penalty kick. Ben Weldon successfully converted with a lovely finish to the corner to become the Cup final hero for Douglas Hall.

Ringmahon Rangers: Kacper Reszka; Fionn Crowley, Luke Herlehy, Jack Dennehy, Aaron Collins, Dylan O’Regan Forde, Adam Delurey, Adam O’Callaghan, Stephen Kennedy Osubor, Zack O’Brien(Joey Gibson 81), Paddy Cronin (Ryan Keating 76).

Douglas Hall: Daniel  Moynihan; Lee Morley, Jonah Odore, Shane Tobin (Cal Nolan 64)  Jerry Nduwada (Kevin Lyons 79), Ben Weldon, David Bomer, Gavin O’Shea, Adrien Thibauet (Billy Fraher 56) , Padraig Murphy, Harry Flanagan (Daniel Akinsanya 79).

Referee: John Walsh.

Padraig Murphy of Douglas Hall is tackled by Adam O’Callaghan of Ringmahon Rangers
during the FAI Centenary Youth Cup Final  SPORTSFILE

Related posts


Eamon Scott

Andorra international friendly moved

Eamon Scott

Park 16’s the remaining Kerry League team in the SFAI Skechers National Cups

Eamon Scott