Striker Online



Another busy day at Athlone Town Stadium as the Colleges FAI celebrating the 50 th anniversary of their establishment in 1972 staged the remaining three of this season’s finals.

By John Hudson

GMIT Galway ‘B’ took the Bob Eustace Cup, while Dublin Business School were the Bob Eustace Shield winners and in the final game the Challenge Cup was captured by the TU Dublin City Campus side.

Colleges FAI Challenge Cup (Final)

TU Dublin-City Campus 3 (Fayo Adeogun 3) Northern Regional Coll, Coleraine 0.

Fayo Adeogun hit a brilliant second half hat trick to see the TU Dublin City Campus side overcome Northern Regional College Coleraine and capture the Colleges FAI Challenge Cup in a highly competitive final at Athlone Town Stadium.

The first was a highly competitive affair although it remained scoreless with neither side just not able to hit the target with the few real chances they created.

Lewis Tosh and Jay Riley worked a neat free kick for Coleraine and when the ball was delivered into the TU Dublin box Zac Dealy saw his finish deflected for a corner.

At the other end Naz Ajaegbo burst forward but his well struck effort was well over and later Adam Moore from distance shot wide.

The second half turned in favour of the Dublin side and they got off the mark just past the hour.

The first goal was created by the silky skills of Gilles Foka who weaved his way past a couple of defenders in the box and set up Adeogun who kept his cool to shoot high into the top of the Coleraine net.

Minutes later Adeogun struck again, beating goalkeeper Jack Rodden with a well-placed low finish into the bottom corner.

Coleraine lost Matthew Walker with 20 minutes remaining after he was red carded for a robust challenge on Foka which left the northern side chasing the game.

However Adeogun wasn’t finished his scoring spree just yet and in another TU Dublin attack Adam Moore’s well-placed pass found Adeogun in the clear out on the right flank and he drifted past the Coleraine defender to hammer a low drive inside the far post.

Player of the Match: Gilles Foka (TU Dublin City Campus).

TU Dublin-City Campus: Darragh Kenny; Alex Trofin, Shane Meehan, Naz Ajaegbio, Madjid Musodi; Roy Byrne, Adam Moore; Fayo Adeogun, Gilles Foka, Zac O’Doherty; Michael Adebambo. Subs: Ethan O’Neill (for Byrne 78), Malik Alimi (for Trofin 86), David Baker (for Ajaegbo 86), Ciaran Smyth (for Musodi 86). Not used: Victor Ibikunie, Felix Santos, Zoran Bradel.

Northern Regional College: Jack Rodden; Jordan McMullen, Matty McNeill, Matthew Walker, Zac Dealy; Luke McConnell, Jay Riley, Andy Stinson, Caleb Wan; Lewis Tosh; Josh Busteed. Subs: Thomas McNabb (for Rodden 75), Ryan Canning (for McConnell 78), Joshua Campbell (for Wan 78), Aaron Downes (for Riley 81), Tom Hutchinson (for Busteed 81).Not used: Keelin Gaile, Leon Patton.  

Referee: Martin Hatchett. Assistants: Paul Tone, Willie Stokes.

Colleges FAI Bob Eustace Cup (Final)

GMIT-Galway ‘B’ ………5 TU Shannon-Midlands ‘B’…….. 0

(Ben Eheh 3, Calum Browne, Ben O’Gorman)

BEN EDEH grabbed a hat trick as an extremely strong GMIT Galway ‘B’ side powered to a 5-0 win over TU Shannon-Midlands ‘C’ in the Colleges FAI Bob Eustace cup final.

It was an early morning start for these two sides at Athlone Town Stadium with both having mustered a fair gathering of supporters for the 10 o’clock kick off.

Edeh made the breakthrough to put the Galway side ahead with the first of his three goals on the half hour.

Defender Marvellous Okin’s attempted clearance was cut out by Leigh Nolan who found Edeh with a cross into the box and the big striker fired past Daire McCormack.

The Athlone based TU Shannon Midlands came close to leveling before the break when a low drive by Lorcan Cornally was blocked by Brian McMahon in the Galway goal and Maurice McGee following up put his effort over.

The impressive Callum Browne stretched the lead, shooting home on 70 minutes from a Princewell Delia cross.

Edeh then took over as the TU Shannon-Midlands side began to tire and he completed his hat trick adding two more goals in a five minute spell while Ben O’Gorman’s late fifth sealed the comfortable win.

Player of the Match: Ben Edeh (GMIT Galway ‘B’).

GMIT-Galway ‘B’: Brian McMahon; Rory Carberry, Evan O’Connor, Ben Molloy, Leigh Nolan; Lee Wilson, Mikey Dinan; Princewill Delia; Conor Finnerty, Calum Browne; Ben Edeh. Subs: Ben O’Gorman (for Dinan 44), Jordan Waldre (for Finnerty 56), Aaron Kelly (for Carberry 56), Sean Maher (for McMahon 71), Nathan Maxwell (for Delia 80) Not used: Kevin Umude, Mirko DeCarmejane).

TU Shannon-Midlands ‘B’: Daire McCormack; Marvellous Okin, Marko Gojovic, Riley Donoghue; Dean Reynolds, Lorcan Cornally, Jack Dalton, Maurice McGee, Brandon Campbell; Malachi MacCormic; James Martin. Subs: Ryan Donoghue (for Okin 51), Kieran Spain(for MacCormic 80), Cian Farrell (for Dalton 80) Eric Hoare (for Martin 83). Not used: Robson Maforimbo, Oran Holland, Colin Kenny

Referee: Paul Tone Assistants: Martin Hartnell, Donal Sweeney.

Colleges FAI Bob Eustace Shield (Final)

Pearse College Crumlin 1 (Clarence Konzo pen) Dublin Business School 8 (Cian Byrne 3-1 pen, Dan Gribincea 2, Niall Shields, Nathan Bell, Paul Yakubu)

A scintillating three goal spell on the half hour gave Dublin Business School the impetus to push on and inflict a heavy 8-1 defeat on Pearse College Crumlin to take the Colleges FAI Bob Eustace Shield in a rather one sided final at Athlone Town Stadium.  

After an even first 30 minutes the flood gates opened on Pearse with DBS scoring three quick goals through Dan Gribincea, Cian Byrne and Niall Shields. And the going got harder for Pearse after Nathan Bell added a fourth just before the break.

The goals kept coming after the resumption and Gribincea was on the mark again followed quickly by Byrne with his second of the day to take the score to 6-0.

Byrne then converted a penalty for his hat trick and shortly after Pearse finally hit the target when Clarence Konzo sent goalkeeper Evan Hales the wrong way with a well struck penalty.

Substitute completed the DBS total with goal number 8 for a comfortable win.

Player of the Match: Cian Byrne (Dublin Business School)

Pearse College: Adam O’Brien; Alan Yong, Josh Quigley, Adam Notaro; Scott Mates, Lee Cunningham; Cian Byrne, Clarence Konzo, Ahmed Khalid Ali; David Omole, Patrick Furlong. Subs: Jamie Bradshaw (for Mates 40), Seamus O’Connor (for Omole 78), Aaron Nolan (for Furlong 78), Mikey Lanigan (for Byrne 78), Victor Ajayi (for Konzo 78). Not used: Dilane Kasisi.

Dublin Business School: Evan Hales; Daniel Negru, James Hogan, Ryan O’Callaghan, Seth Burns; John Sullivan, Nathan Bell, Mark McMahon, Dan Gribincea, Niall Shields; Cian Byrne. Subs: Mustapha Yabo Abdurraham (for Sullivan 46), Thomas Gurak (for Gribincea 55), Paul Yakabu (for Shields 60), Matheiu Sticker (for Byrne 60). Not used: Nillas Schmidt, John Dolan.

Referee: Ray Conlon. Assistants: Martin Hatchett, Paul Tone.

Related posts

Tickets for crucial Iceland UEFA Under 21 qualifier now on sale – grab ’em now!

Eamon Scott

Sligo Leitrim DSL

Eamon Scott


Eamon Scott