Striker Online
Latest News HomepageLSL

Bosco and Rangers share Major 1 spoils at sun-baked Benmadigan Road


THE spoils were shared thanks to the home side’s late, late equaliser in this Major 1 Saturday Leinster Senior League clash at Benmadigan Road on Saturday.

It looked as if Newtown Rangers had done enough to take the three points but Bosco battled to the end and got their reward with a leveller in the dying minutes of a tightly contested occasion which was expertly handled by match official Chris Murphy.

Bosco were stretched with their three teams in action on Saturday and their cause was not helped when they lost a defender early on with a hamstring pull.

Keepers David Kerian and his opposite John Irwin showed good handling when their respective goal was threatened.

Aaron O’Brien and lan Morris were excellent for the visitors and Shaun Griffin was solid alongside Darren Morris for Rangers who fielded a strong line-up at the famous Drimnagh venue.

It was the visitors who forged ahead in the 32nd minute after good approach work by Jordan Hanly and Des McGrath and the away side took their advantage into the break.

Alex Taffe showed up well for the home side while substitute Brian Coogan spurned a couple of chance when well placed.

Rangers looked comfortable defending their advantage but in a whirlwind finished Bosco earned themselves a point with just four minute of the encounter remaining.

both sides finished with 10-men but it was never a dirty encounter and referee Murphy permitted water breaks which was genuinely called for on the day.

ST JOHN BOSCO: David Kenian; Stephen Mills, Andrew Keehan, Ciaran Walsh, Joe Summerville, Tommy Devitt, Shane Lawler, Alex Taffe, Lar Coleman, Conor Stokes, Adam Curley. Subs: Ray Kelly, Brian Cougan, Adrin Costa, Conor Ray, John Shannon.

NEWTOWN RANGERS: John Irwin; Neil Davoran, James Ryan, Shaun Griffin, Darren Morris, Aaron O’Brien, Alan Morris, Owen Hamilton, Jordan Hanley, Des McGrath, Ger Mooney. Subs: Eric Mumongo, Gary Kearns, Bradley yodele, Dan Connell, Graham McInerney.

Referee: Chris Murphy.

Related posts

Wexford Football League

Eamon Scott

FAI Steering Group examines options for Grassroots Football

Eamon Scott


Eamon Scott