Striker Online
Latest News Homepage

Bob Docherty Cup kicks off tomorrow

FAI Schools head for Newcastle to defend Bob Docherty Cup

THE REPUBLIC OF IRELAND SCHOOLS jet off to Newcastle this evening with high hopes of retaining the Bob Docherty Cup which they last captured in 2019.

Following a lengthy hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic, it’s all systems go tomorrow when England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland do battle at Cochrane Park, Newcastle University. 

England will have two squads competing this year as England, Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland are in one group while England 2, Wales and Scotland are in another group.

England will face Northern Ireland while England 2 will test themselves against the Welsh as the opening series kicks off tomorrow afternoon (Sunday, April 10) at 4pm.

Richard BERKELEY’s side will have a light training session tomorrow and hope to hit the ground running when they face hosts England on Monday afternoon in the second day of the tournament.  While Scotland host England 2 in the other outing.

Tuesday’s draw will see Northern Ireland play the Republic and Scotland take on Wales.

The winners of group A and B will play-off Thursday morning then in the ultimate showcase while second play in group A and B will take to the field and third in their respective group feature in the final series of games. 

There has been one change to the team announced late last month. The Irish have lost goalkeeper Annie O’BRIEN (Assumption Secondary School, Walkinstown) due to injury. Her replacement is the capable St. Angela’s College, Cork student Hollie HOMAN who will relish the high performance environment in the UK.

The medical team have cleared Kiera SENA (Coláiste an Chraoibín, Fermoy) to play following a minor knock last week while Cache CRUMLISH (Carndonagh Community School) will join up with the squad on Monday morning.

Hannah HEALY (Holy Faith Secondary School, Clontarf) will lead the class of 2022 in this year’s tournament. The youngster will be a prominent star for the Irish and one to watch out for next week.

An interesting inclusion to the eighteen is Tallaght Community School scholar Lauryn McCABE. She will be following in her older sister’s footsteps as Katie lined out for the Republic of Ireland Schools in 2010 when the Irish won the tournament in Glasgow. A good omen, one hopes!   

The Republic of Ireland have won this competition seven times in its history dating back to 2002 when ex FAI President Donal CONWAY was the Manager.

Margaret O’REILLY brought success in 2005 while Priya THAKARAR lifted the title in 2007

. Michael GALLAGHER won the prestigious honours in 2008 when Salthill Devon FC hosted the tournament.

Then two years later, GALLAGHER added a second to his tally. BERKELEY’S debut in 2018 saw him capture back to back wins in the Bob Docherty Cup and John Read Trophy.

His impressive pedigree ensured both Cups were retained the following year. Can he make it three in-a-row next Thursday, only time will tell.


| Cache CRUMLISH (Carndonagh Community School),

Orlaith DOHERTY (St. Columba’s College, Stranorlar),

Keeva FLYNN (St. Mary’s Secondary School, Ballina),

Emma DUFFY (Davitt College, Castlebar),

Emily FITZGERALD (Coláiste Iognaid, Galway),

Clodagh FITZGERALD (Coláiste Choilm, Ballincollig),

Chloe WALLACE (Coláiste Nano Nagle, Sexton Street, Limerick),

Emma MEANEY (Ardscoil Mhuire, Corbally),

Clodagh DALY (St. Mary’s Secondary School, Nenagh),

Leah McGRATH (St. Anne’s Secondary School, Tipperary),

Amy TIERNEY (John the Baptist Community School, Limerick),

Kiera SENA (Coláiste an Chraoibín, Fermoy),

Shauna SHEAHAN (Mount Mercy College, Cork),

Hollie HOMAN (St. Angela’s College, Cork),

Lucy O’ROURKE (St. Mary’s College, Naas),

Kayla MAGUIRE (Kingswood Community College),

Hannah HEALY © (Holy Faith Secondary School, Clontarf),

Lauryn McCABE (Tallaght Community School)

MANAGEMENT STAFF | Head Coach Richard Berkeley (Sancta Maria College, Louisburgh)

 Coach Katie McCarthy (Coláiste na Toirbhírte, Bandon), 

Coach Kaneshia McKinney (Scoil Mhuire, Buncrana)

 GK Coach Emmet Peyton (St. Muredach’s College, Ballina), 

Equipment Manager Tessa Mullins (Holy Rosary College, Mountbellew),

Performance Analyst Aoife Gibbons (IT Tralee),

 Physio Denise Callaghan


Sunday, April 10 | KO 4pm

England vs Northern Ireland

England 2 vs Wales

Monday, April 11 | KO 4pm

Scotland vs England 2

Republic of Ireland vs England

Tuesday, April 12 | KO 4pm

Northern Ireland vs Republic of Ireland

Scotland vs Wales

Wednesday, April 13 | Free Day

Thursday, April 14 | KO 11am

3rd Group A vs 3rd Group B

2nd Group A vs 2nd Group B

1st Group A vs 1st Group B

Bob Docherty Cup | Roll of Honour

2002Republic of IrelandBallymena, Northern Ireland
2003ScotlandEdinburgh, Scotland
2004ScotlandClare, Republic of Ireland
2005Republic of IrelandBallymena, Northern Ireland
2006ScotlandDumfries, Scotland
2007***Republic of IrelandWrexham, Wales
2008Republic of IrelandSalthill Devon, Galway
2009ScotlandBelfast, Northern Ireland
2010Republic of IrelandGlasgow, Scotland
2011Northern IrelandCardiff, Wales
2012Northern IrelandAUL Complex, Dublin
2013ScotlandShaws Bridge, Belfast
2014EnglandRepton School, Derbyshire
2015ScotlandToryglen, Glasgow
2016EnglandDragon Park, Wales
2017WalesAUL Complex, Dublin
2018Republic of IrelandUlster University, Jordanstown
2019Republic of IrelandCambrils Park, Salou
***Renamed Bob Docherty Cup

Related posts

Park Orient hold on as Celtic rally falls short in O’Neills LFL Premier at Inspire in Cabra

Eamon Scott

QUIZ 3 – try your soccer knowledge. email answers to socstriker@gmail.com

Eamon Scott

Leinster Senior League FIXTURES

Eamon Scott