Striker Online
Latest News HomepageUCFLUCFL

10-Man AGP strike late brace to share the spoils with Frankfort FC


GRITTY AGP hit two late goals to deny an opening day Frankfort a home win when these two sides clashed in their UCFL Division 2 clash at Donaghmede Park.

It looked as if the home side – made up entirely of Brazilian nationals – would bag all the spoils but it was the visitors who finished the strongest netting two late goals to wrestle a point from a game that for long periods looked like a forlorn hope.

A first half dismissal for a handball inside the box reduced the visitors and Frankfort FC took full advantage with goals from Davi Lima and a second with a brilliant finish from Danilo Silva off a well worked freekick.

That was the score as the game entered the final stages of the game but some clever substitutions by the visitors saw an injection of pace and energy and Arthur Griffith used the full width of the Donaghmede pitch to pull their opponents out of position.

Jonathan Spollan finished off from close in to reduce the arrears in the 88th minute and it looked as if that may well have been a consolation goal but AGP piled forward sensing opportunity and in a goalmouth scramble it was substitute William Murphy who got the killer touch to force the ball over the line four minutes into injury time.

There was barely time for Frankfort to restart the match before match official Brian Lawless called time on an encounter which belied the divisional status with both sides showed flair and invention around the park.

“We’re happy with a point and the lads deserve great credit for plugging away right to the very end,” said AGP player manager Al O’Kearney.

“We’ve no complaints about the red card but credit to the boys for refusing to throw in the towel and we’ll take the point and move on. We showed plenty of grit and resolve and if we can reproduce that commitment over the course of the season, we’ll be OK.”

FRANKFORT FC; Yuri Corrga; Fabrico Souza, Davi Lima, Nicollas Neves, Samuel Simoes, Renan, Fabrico Souza, Allan Ladeira, Danilo Silv,Calo Rios, Gustavo Fedrigo. Subs: Rodrigo Paes, Vitor Paiv, Rael Guimares, Thiago Oliveira.

ARTHUR GRIFFITH PARK: Richie Doyle, Robert Best, Martin Pakenham, Colin Galvin, Adam Bailey, Paddy Maher, Alan Todirescu, Brian McGowan, Jonathan Spollan, Allan O’Kearney, Odhran Meflam. Subs: Willim Murphy, Paul Tuite, Fjoralb Pasnaj, Joshua Keating, Eric Murtagh.

Referee: Brian Lawless.

Related posts


Eamon Scott

Colaluca and Meaney on the mark as Wicklow capture Youths Cup crown

Eamon Scott

Republic of Ireland Under-18s and FAI-ETB Selection to meet next week

Eamon Scott